You are viewing a read-only archive of the Blogs.Harvard network. Learn more.


Cert denial brings same-sex marriage to many more states

October 7th, 2014 by Joseph William Singer

The Supreme Court’s refusal to take certiorari in a number of cases means that same-sex marriage will become legal in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin, and soon afterwards in Colorado, Kansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming bringing the total number of jurisdictions to 31 (including the District of Columbia) plus at least 5 Indian nations. In addition a ruling by a three judge panel in the 9th Circuit on Oct 7, 2014 will likely open up Nevada and Idaho as well, making a total of 33 jurisdictions. States that still ban same-sex marriages include Alaska, Montana, Arizona, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Texas, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Florida. Jessica Meyers, Appeals rejected, way cleared for wider same-sex marriage: court action likely to affect 11 more states, Boston Globe, Oc. 6, 2014.

Posted in Antidiscrimination law, Marital property, Sexual orientation | Comments Off on Cert denial brings same-sex marriage to many more states