Marina Warner brings us Grimm Thoughts on the BBC


Here’s the link to the 10-part BBC broadcast on the Brothers Grimm…

  1. Episode 10

    Marina Warner considers the future of the Grimm brothers’ tales.

    Episode 9

  2. Marina Warner examines the tales’ history of censorship.

    First broadcast: 27 Dec 2012

    Episode 8

  3. Marina Warner explores the Grimm brothers’ tales.

    First broadcast: 26 Dec 2012

  4. Episode 7

    Marina examines the deeper meanings read into the tales by writers and psychologists.

    First broadcast: 25 Dec 2012

  5. Episode 6

    Marina Warner probes the fate of the tales at the hands of the Nazis.

    First broadcast: 24 Dec 2012

  6. Episode 5

    ¬†Marina Warner is drawn into the tales’ rich history of illustration.

    First broadcast: 21 Dec 2012

  7. Marina identifies real people and places believed to have inspired the Grimms’ collection

  8. Episode 3

    3/10 Marina Warner enters the magical worlds of the fairy tale.

    First broadcast: 19 Dec 2012

    Episode 2

  9. 2/10 Marina Warner traces Grimms’ tales back to their ancient origins.

    First broadcast: 18 Dec 2012

  10. Episode 1

    1/10 Marina Warner introduces the Grimm brothers and examines the story of The Frog King.

    First broadcast: 17 Dec 2012